This Just Feels Dirty | 2016 Election

The one thing I can say with complete confidence about this election is that it will be talked about for years to come; history has been made. The American People are tired of the establishment…… But will it be the end of the Two-Party System? I doubt it.

Collectively, as a people, we voted between two known criminals to lead the new world. Living in America feels a bit less like a functioning Democracy and bit more like living in The Republic from Star Wars. Where is Queen Amidala when you need her?

I sat silently on the couch last night, eyes transfixed on the TV screen as election results rolled in, praying the People would make a good decision. It was the first time in forever that I’ve denied my kids access to their beloved Netflix as I watched the news roll in.  My kids, 4 and 6, watched as they passed through the room and only sat next to me near bedtime as they wondered what all the fuss was about.

I explained to them that history was being made tonight, that we were voting between a hot-headed business man and the first potentially viable female President of the United States who was also a terrifying choice. I also explained that Mommy and Daddy had both cast our votes alongside most of the other Americans and that we would have a new leader for our county soon. They marveled at the idea of being able to witness something so big.

Near 10pm, my husband switched off the TV and said he was tired of watching this crap. It’s easy to get caught up in it and forget that the popular vote isn’t always a match for the electoral college vote, so we switched it back over to Netflix to take our mind off of things.

I woke up to my Facebook Newsfeed for election results: Trump won.

Crud.

Now what?

I knew my candidate wasn’t going to get the popular vote, but a small part of me wished a miracle would occur and that Gary Johnson would win. It’d be the ultimate message to The Establishment, but I knew deep down that we are only in the infancy of this fight. I cast my vote for him anyways, though. I don’t tell you this to incite further debate because frankly, I’m tired of the arguing. Can’t we all just get along and appreciate the fact that we all have Freedom of Speech?

So, this morning has been a roller coaster of emotions. I wasn’t going to be happy either way, but now I am living in fear, just like the other half of America who didn’t vote for Trump.

The last thing the American people should fear is their future under the President Elect, but a lot of us do. Some have already drawn parallels between movie character bullies and Hitler.

The rest of the world just collectively did a face palm.

This all just feels dirty. We feel raw emotionally. I kinda want to just cry and I know I’m not alone in this.

The good news, though?

The good news is that although he’s been elected, he cannot act alone. Our forefathers had the presence of mind to build in fail-safes into our Constitution and government workings that do not allow the errant lunatic to run stark raving mad unchecked.

Yay!

The bad news is that we now have to place our faith in the hands of career politicians who are responsible for the mess we are already in…. you know, the whole reason the American People thought it as a good idea to elect this guy? It boggles my mind that almost all of the politicians in my state up for re-election won their seat back while the populace is raving about how bad they’ve been representing our interests. Change starts locally and it cannot happen if you keep the status quo in office locally.

I think it all boils down to how we, as a whole, handle the future. How do we move forward? The same way we always have: with our heads held high, always remembering our values, hard work and above all else, remembering to be kind to each other.

We cannot move forward if we are constantly pushing each other back based on opposing view points.  Appreciate, creatively disagree if you want, but always value each other and be kind. It’s going to be okay…….

Don’t forget to teach your kids its okay to have your candidate not win; it’s not a reason to give up. Teach persistence.

 

Leave a Reply

