Disappointment and Kindness

There are many times in this life where things don’t go the way we planned and it’s okay to feel let down or to be sad about it. In the midst of all that is going on in the world today, many of us are feeling raw but today I am going to give you a reason to carry on. An no, this is not another political post, this post is about life in general.

Love – it’s the reason we are here. We aren’t here to be famous or to get rich, we are here to learn how to love one another and currently, as a species, we are failing miserably.

In a world of social media and information overload, we often feel alone even when in a room full of people. I think it’s normal to feel the frustration of not truly being understood or even known; now is the time to put down the devices that cause the divide. It is time to look people in the eye and let them know you care.

I decided that, as a response to current events, I would not partake in the hate and divisive propaganda. I choose to show love as fiercely as others show hate, even to complete strangers.

For example, we went to dinner the other night and our waiter was clearly struggling. The others in my party were complaining about how terrible the service was and I think he overheard the conversation because he distanced himself for a bit and had someone else bring us stuff.  When he came back, before he made any eye contact or could take our order, I asked how his night was going. You could see his shoulders relax and his face lit up, he was excited that someone actually cared enough to ask.  As it turns out, it was his third day on the job and his first shift solo. If you’ve ever waited tables before, you know it’s a challenging thing, especially in the beginning. I asked everyone in the party to leave an unusually good tip and I wrote out a note and left it for our waiter, reading simply:

“You’re doing great! Keep up the good work!”

As we walked out to the car, I could see the waiter collecting the tab receipts and reading the note. His face lit up like Christmas day and he excitedly ran over to a co-worker to show off the note; he was beaming! All it took was one simple act of kindness from a stranger to let him know that he would survive the new job and that he wasn’t a complete failure. One simple note changed the outcome of his evening and who knows what else.

14322246_10153862375706179_1566222665592529407_n

We often get too wrapped up in our own world to notice what is happening with anyone else around us. Now is the time to start a revolution, the kind that can truly change the world for the better. Stop protesting in the streets, stop hurting people, stop whining about what hasn’t even happened yet and start leading by example.

Amidst all my efforts to do nice things for others, it seems the world is getting tougher on me. I choose not to let my disappointment stand in the way of making peaceful progress.

It is truly hard to stay this path when I am personally mourning the loss of what I thought was a sure bet, but I choose to be the storm.

14440623_927111217424715_8225410476088973516_n

I am going to issue a challenge to each and every one of you:

  • share this post
  • share how you’re showing love to others.

My personal goal is to share one Random Act of Kindness with a truly random person each day for the next 30 days. Let’s be the change we wish to see.

 

One thought on “Disappointment and Kindness

Leave a Reply

